August 15th in African American History – The Republic of the Congo

The Republic of the CongoAugust 15, 1960 The Republic of the Congo gained independence from France.

The Congo is located in Central Africa and is bordered by Gabon to the west, Cameroon to the northwest, the Central African Republic to the northeast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.

The country is 132,000 square miles in area with a population of approximately 3.7 million. Approximately 90% of the population practice Christianity.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image